home
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Behance
  about graphic novels illustrations louis author visits press store   blog contact
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Behance home
             Louis graphic novels

Louis - Red Letter Day

Louis-Red Letter Day interior page

LOUIS - Red Letter Day

Published by metaphrog in 2011

Also available for iPad on Sequential

Louis and his companion FC are two inhabitants of a simple hamlet. Louis hungers for adventure and this tale follows his attempts to live his dreams. Designed to frighten and amuse children of all ages, this scary-cute story will make you laugh and cry.

The multiple Eisner and Ignatz awards nominee Louis - Red Letter Day has had a makeover and is now back in print, in an entirely redrawn and repainted edition with beautiful hand-painted artwork, packaged in an attractive hardback. A standalone story complete with a making of section.

Full Colour | Hardback | Sewn binding | 80 pages
ISBN 9780954598426

£9.99 | US $14.99

It’s brilliant... it’s funny, it’s weird... Kids are going to LOVE it!
-- Alan Grant

A delightful all-ages tale of Louis' quest for adventure, Red Letter Day is the sort of comic book that draws you into its world. It's a distinctive work, fully envisioned and not in the least imitative, and has the potential of becoming a children's classic.
-- Comics Buyer's Guide

A deliberate blend of delightful and disturbing
-- The Herald

DISTRIBUTION:
Turnaround Publisher Services
Diamond Comic Distributors (ITEM CODE: SEP111173)

LIBRARIES:
Order from your library supplier:
Bertrams, Holt Jackson, Peters, Gardners

CS  Creative Scotland

Louis - Night Salad

LNS1

LNS2

DISTRIBUTION:
Turnaround Publisher Services
Diamond Comic Distributors

LIBRARIES:
Order from your library supplier:
Bertrams, Holt Jackson, Peters, Gardners

LOUIS - Night Salad

Highly Commended for the 2011 Scottish Children's Book Awards

Eisner Awards nominee: Best Coloring!

Leeds Graphic Novel Awards Shortlist!

YALSA 2011 Great Graphic Novels for Teens Longlist!

Published by metaphrog in 2010

Also available for iPad on Sequential

Highly acclaimed metaphrog return with a brand new stand-alone graphic novel: the moving tale of Louis’ quest for a cure to save his friend FC. A simple story of friendship, heart-warming and genuinely transporting. Beautiful hand-painted artwork packaged in an attractive hardback.

Full Colour | Hardback | Sewn binding | 96 pages
ISBN 978-0-9545984-1-9

First book funded by Creative Scotland

Buy on amazon.co.uk amazonUK   Buy on amazon.co.uk CS      Buy on amazon.co.uk Creative Scotland Creative Scotland Buy on amzon.com

Reviews of LOUIS - NIGHT SALAD

That Louis’s concerns are universal and his adventures a reflection of modern world make his tales like contemporary fables.  Metaphrog manage to bridge the gap between innocence and experience with real insight, making Night Salad something that can stand alongside Kafka’s short stories — deceptively simple tales that manage to pierce directly to the heart of the human condition.
-- Gavin Lees, The Comics Journal (read more)

Sandra and John have crafted their best Louis book yet, an utterly gorgeous, colourful, touching fantasy for all ages, with fabulous artwork and colouring and an engaging emotional hook... it’s one of those books that makes you happy just to hold it in your hand ... in fact it’s going right into my Best of the Year list.
-- Forbidden Planet Blog (read more)

A dream-quest theme persists throughout this colorful book, which brings to mind many classic, if somewhat less unsettling, adventures: Harold and the Purple Crayon and Where the Wild Things Are. Established fans will delight in this volume; like Louis, new readers will enter the story perplexed but exit with joy.
-- The Library Journal

A sweet, sad fable, beautifully rendered by the Glasgow-based duo of John Chalmers and Sandra Marrs...the story they tell, a gentle fantasy, has an easy tone and a deceptive depth that will appeal to both adults and children.
-- The Sunday Herald

These days we're bombarded with animations or graphic novels that claim to amuse kids while offering a metanarrative to please adults. But few actually fulfil these promises as effectively as this Scottish duo's hand-painted book.
-- Art Review

In the tradition of Little Nemo, Scotland-based creative team John Chalmers and Sandra Marrs of Metaphrog have brought forward a fanciful adventure story. Louis, the little hero from numerous previous Metaphrog titles, returns in a new stand-alone story perfect for young readers and the young at heart. Desperately searching a cure for his sick friend and automated pet FC, Louis embarks on a dreamy journey that is both real and fantastic: glass trees, impossible cliffs, cities beneath the desert, and a library which holds all knowledge in the world await him in the pages of Night Salad.

The art is hand-painted and vibrant, at once inviting and enchanting. Older readers will pick up on fascinating undertones as John and Sandra define a world where fruit must be assembled and all suburban houses are identical. If you love the unusual and delight in the unique, I highly recommend this title as a candy-colored touch of joy for your library.

-- Sarah Martinez, Diamond Comic Distributors

Did you ever have a really strange dream as a kid? Do you remember being bewildered and intrigued, waking up in a fog of vibrant colors and delightful absurdity? Did you like that dream? Then Louis Night Salad is for you.
-- OverPixelated

 
Louis - Dreams Never Die



LOUIS - Dreams Never Die

OUT OF PRINT

Graphic novel + animation by metaphrog + music by hey and múm on enhanced cd (2 tracks + animation) or blue vinyl 7" (2 tracks)

Published by metaphrog in association with Fatcat Records in 2004

When Louis and FC decide to visit Aunt Alison, little do they realise what dangers lurk in Hamlet's labyrinthine pathways.The odious Fly Catchers are never far behind and a genuine adventure story unfolds. An exploration of our modern lives; a voyage of discovery.
hey and mum, have each created something magical with music. Shimmering, fragmented melodious sounds, beautifully atmospheric, strangely insistent.These tracks will make yourspirits soar.

Full Colour | Paperback | 44 pages
ISBN 0954598407


       Scottish Arts Council     Scottish Arts Council Fatcat Records

Quite a while ago, metaphrog from Glasgow were very much into designing their first Louis
stories. One special day some rare vinyl by hey from Berlin drifted to their music
loving shores. They sent heart breaking comic books in return. hey and metaphrog got to know each other a little. After a while they found it was time to share a story, drawings and music and searched for somebody special to join. They were looking for a long time.
Then, finally, múm from iceland were on the right spot just before heading off to an amazing round camping trip. Friends were made, parcels were sent overseas.
Dreams never die.

metaphrog have produced three books by the most adorable character...
-- Julie Burchill in The Guardian

An indispensable bedside book, to plunge into as in a dream.
-- Libération

metaphrog's deep story will have readers contemplating its images and events long after they've reached the final page.
-- Publishers Weekly

metaphrog give their work the feel of a great children's book. Louis himself is cut from the same cloth as Charlie Brown and Jimmy Corrigan.
-- The Comics Journal

 
Louis - The Clown's Last Words


LOUIS - The Clown's Last Words

Published by metaphrog in 2002

Back in Hamlet, where the Quidnuncs are up to no good as usual, Louis finds himself working with fruit. Everyone is looking forward to the Fun Day Out, but something sinister is definitely going on. Cheese, clowns and crazy carrots for all ages!

Full Colour | Paperback | 92 pages
ISBN 0953493296
deluxe: ISBN 0953493288 (out of print)

 Buy from amazon.co.uk   Buy on amazon.co.uk Buy on amazon.co.uk Scottish Arts Council

Metaphrog has crafted something unique, uncompromising, and greater than the sum of its parts. If only more comics were so genuinely transporting.
-- Rain Taxi Review of books

metaphrog have produced three books about the most adorable character.
-- Julie Burchill in The Guardian

Louis, we love you.
--SFX

Louis - Lying to Clive


LOUIS - Lying to Clive

Published by metaphrog in 2001

Life on the bee farm is hard. But, Louis soon finds himself embroiled in a world of mystery and adventure.What is the secret of The Hive? Why would anyone be Lying to Clive?

Full Colour | Paperback | 57 pages
ISBN 095349327X
deluxe: ISBN 0953493261 (out of print)

Buy on amazon.co.uk

Luminescent and haunting illustrations add to the surreal feel of a magical modernist mystery with implicit 1984-style warning which repays repeated readings.
-- The School Librarian

Ostensibly a children's cartoon book, its subtle humour and sinister quality will appeal to all ages, while unassuming, slightly melancholic hero, Louis, is just totally heartwarming. Beware: this stuff is probably addictive.
-- New Internationalist

An insinuating, multi-levelled fable for our disconnected age.
-- Paul Gravett in The Comics Journal

Louis - Red Letter Day


LOUIS - Red Letter Day

OUT OF PRINT

Eisner Awards Nominee: Best Graphic Album New

Eisner Awards Nominee: Best Title for a Younger Audience

Ignatz Awards Nominee: Best New Talent

Published by metaphrog in 2000

Louis and his companion FC are two inhabitants of a simple hamlet. Louis hungers for adventure and this thrilling tale follows his attempts to live his dreams. Designed to frighten and amuse childrenof all ages, this scary-cute story will make you laugh and cry.

Full Colour | Paperback | 68 pages
ISBN 0953493253

  Buy on amazon.com Buy on amazon.co.uk
Buy on amazon.com

A delightful all-ages tale of Louis' quest for adventure, Red Letter Day is the sort of comic book that draws you into its world. It's a distinctive work, fully envisioned and not in the least imitative, and has the potential of becoming a children's classic.
-- Comics Buyer's Guide

With squibs for eyes and delicately inked circles for nose and mouth, Louis' reduced features magically express a life spent daydreaming, writing letters to possibly fictional aunts and reading signs that say 'you look like a potato'. Infused with shadowless light and written in precisely elusive balloons, Louis - Red Letter Day is a seriously spaced enigma from Metaphrog aka Glaswegian cult artists John Chalmers and Sandra Marrs. Like nothing else around.
-- Kodwo Eshun in i-D

facebook twitter home Home Buy from amazon.co.uk Buy on amazon.co.uk Buy from amazon.co.uk Buy from amazon.co.uk Buy from amazon.co.uk Buy on amzon.com Buy on amzon.com Buy on amzon.com Buy on amzon.com Buy from amazon.com Scottish Arts Council Scottish Arts Council Fatcat Records Creative Scotland logo Buy on amazon.co.uk Buy on amzon.com Creative Scotland Buy on amazon.co.uk Buy on amazon.co.uk